PG-13

As the first week of studying and practicing the analysis of media came to an end, I decided since it was a Saturday afternoon that I should treat myself to a movie and relaxation. Blankly, I searched on Google, “movies with brad pitt” with no specific movie or genre in mind. Mr. and Mrs. Smith was my selection. I had high expectations; the movies I previously watched starring Pitt were pretty good so an addition of Angeline Jolie had to be the icing on the cake. I watched the film completely through, and instead of losing consciousness and becoming the stereotypical couch potato during an action movie, I indulged in what was being thrown at me. I thought to myself, “What is this garbage?” I then had to find out what this movie was rated and shockingly it was rated PG-13. All alarms went off in my head. To begin, PG-13 movies have a way of seducing teenagers and appeasing concerned parents because of its rating. Also, using Mr. and Mrs. Smith as an example, PG-13 films can send negative subconscious messages and themes to all audiences but specifically adolescents. Finally, I had to wonder to myself why I was initially attracted to this movie; what did the Google description or cover art provoke in me to give the little urge to watch?

PG-13 stands for parental guidance for audiences under the age of 13. With that said, the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) feels that anything that they label PG-13 is normal for anyone above fourteen to experience alone. PG-13 movies have ways of luring audiences of adolescence into watching them. The first of ways are the trailers. I found the trailer for Mr. and Mrs. Smith after watching the movie and felt even more ashamed and disgusted of how well marketers know how to sell their films to young adults. During teenage years, testosterone and estrogen begin to develop in males and females correspondingly. In other words, kids begin to feel desires that are new to their bodies. The first scene of the trailer is Angeline Jolie—an outrageously attractive woman—in a lingerie. Curves, curves, and more curves, not to mention her aesthetically perfect lips, cheekbones, and her glowing eyes. Not even getting to the purpose of the film yet, the trailer is aiming to have men salivating over the half-naked Jolie. As for the women’s perspective, Brad Pitt is shown shirtless numerous amounts of time in the two minute trailer. Jam packed with explosions, guns, and even a clip from a sex scene, the trailer is a portion of what teenagers want, or what the directors think teenagers want, to see. Well, they are right. Bait is what I would call it.

PG-13 films are borderline clever. They are able to attract younger audiences while giving parents the peace of mind that the movie their child is watching cannot be as bad as a rated R movie. Wrong. The norms of what an appropriate movie is for teenagers in the United States is partially distorted. For example, the ‘f’ word in movies. A sharp, crude word as this one should be avoided as much as possible, but unless a movie is rated R, it can only be used once in a PG-13 movie. What is the difference of such a vulgar word being used once as opposed to sixteen times in a movie? It has the potential to stand out more if used only one time anyway. I wouldn’t want my 14-year-old daughter or son being exposed to such language by a fictional movie. Let’s not forget about how casual the ‘b’ word has become too. Brad Pitt uses it once or twice to refer to the woman who is supposed to be his wife. On that note, there are many messages that Mr. and Mrs. Smith give to audiences. One is awful portrayal of marriage. The two hate each other in the film; they are bored with each other’s presence and speak to each other sarcastically seventy percent of the time. Then there are scenes provoking violence and then rough sex. Lastly, the amount of people blown up, shot, or stabbed is outrageously high in this movie. According to the MPAA, if there is no blood shed or gore, then death is alright. Because there is no blood, death cannot be seen as traumatizing, right?

 I had to question why I chose this movie. I like action. I like Brad Pitt. I’m also open to watching all types of movies, but I think I fell for what I was ‘suppose’ to fall for after seeing the cover of the movie: an attractive woman with her legs out, and two pistols right in the open. I wanted to see Brad Pitt knock out a few guys and also have the luxury of seeing Angeline Jolie in a bathing suit. It is a bit disappointing that I fell for what was intended for me and peers of my age group. Although I fell for the trap, I was able to remain conscious of what I was watching, and if was up to me, this movie would be rated R. There are no completely nude scenes, not a vast amount of swear words, but the amount of violence and discussed topics by the actors such as infidelity, adultery, sexism, and assassination are all too much for teenagers. Some may have the ability to watch and disregard any negative aspects portrayed as normal in the movie, but other malleable teenagers may not. That is where the problem still lies: why is it appropriate, let alone normal, for movies to feed us garbage? Who told the MPAA that 14 is a responsible age to witness Jolie snap a man’s neck while barely wearing clothes, or Pitt punching and kneeing his own wife to the stomach attempting to kill her?

2 thoughts on “PG-13

  1. sadmooseinahat says:

    I never thought of movies in that sense. Sure, I always knew that movies exist simply to let you look at attractive models and bad explosion scenes, but it never quite crossed my mind that PG-13 movies were actually targeting teenagers. I always assumed they actually softened it up so the film had a chance for a bigger audience.
    It is interesting to think, when making a movie, directors and producers think about how each age group will be affected by the material in both the feature presentation itself and the trailer. While the movie is the what matters in the end, the trailer has significant power to either entice me to watch the movie or drive me away. I agree with your idea that trailers are made specifically to give you exactly what you want. The two minutes of action packed nudity is perfect for luring hormonal teenagers into a crappy movie.
    I have watched Mr. and Mrs Smith, but I knew what it was about before I watched it. I knew about the murderous tendencies of the couple and the general storyline before I turned it on. At this moment in time I don’t remeber why I watched it, it wasn’t very good. I suppose I watched it because I could. One of the lovely things about being over 13 is it feels great to watch PG-13 movies. The movies are made for us, it’s only “normal” for us to fall for it.

    Like

  2. This is an interesting take on the rating systems for movies. This movies is defiantly targeted to a young age group. It has just enough sex and violence to appeal to teens but to little to make it an R movie. This is a really good analysis and has change the way I think about trailers and the rating system.

    Like

Leave a comment